Impella CP,
does it really help with Reduced 180-day all-cause mortality in STEMI-related cardiogenic shock?
research showsThe grade is B. DanGer-Shock randomized 360 patients and analyzed 355 after five lacked obtainable consent: 179 assigned to Impella CP and 176 to standard care. The primary outcome, all-cause death at 180 days, occurred in 82/179 (45.8%) versus 103/176 (58.5%), HR 0.74, 95% CI 0.55 to 0.99, P=0.04. Death is objective and the 12.7-point absolute difference is large, but this is one confirmatory trial with a wide interval and treatment decisions made with allocation known, giving B with 72 points.
ads claimMortality benefit cannot be presented alone. The trial covered a tightly selected STEMI left-ventricular shock population and requires disclosure of increased bleeding, limb ischemia, renal replacement, and hemolysis.
Useful facts when choosing a product
- Impella CP is a percutaneous microaxial pump that moves blood from the left ventricle into the aorta.
- Pump placement succeeded in 170 of 179 assigned patients.
- Verdict 1918 is D with 34 points for a different device, the intra-aortic balloon pump, in the same broad indication; it is not evidence about Impella CP.
What the research actually shows
This randomized trial enrolled patients at 14 centers in Denmark, Germany, and the United Kingdom. Adults with STEMI had to meet all three shock criteria: systolic pressure below 100 mm Hg or vasopressor need, arterial lactate at least 2.5 mmol/L, and left-ventricular ejection fraction below 45%. Patients comatose after out-of-hospital arrest and those with overt right-ventricular failure were excluded. Standardization of intensive-care discharge criteria was not stated in the paper. Funding came from the Danish Heart Foundation and Abiomed; manufacturer device provision was not stated in the paper. Funders did not participate in design, analysis, interpretation, or writing, while Abiomed had an opportunity to review and comment on the final manuscript.
Why this is classified as B (72)
A device trial found a 12.7-point absolute reduction in objective mortality with HR 0.74, but there was no exact independent replication, the interval was wide, treatment decisions were made with allocation known, and intensive-care discharge criteria were not standardized. These limitations give B with 72 points. Mixed nonprofit and manufacturer funding was recorded, while harms were graded separately as a warning.
Counterpoint. The result should not be automatically extended to non-STEMI infarction, comatose arrest survivors, shock without lactate elevation, or prominent right-ventricular failure.
Rejudgment record. Cross-check applied — Direct cross-check of the DanGer-Shock analysis population, shock definition, 180-day mortality, absolute complication rates, and funding statement
| Endpoint | H | Hard endpoint - actual events such as death |
| Replication | R1 | Single confirmatory trial |
| Independence | I1 | Mixed funding sources |
| Effect size | E+ | Meets the clinically important threshold |
The scoring table and the verdict agree (B).
Sub-claim grades by effect
This ingredient is marketed for several effects. A single overall grade blends strong and weak claims together, so each effect is graded separately here. The overall grade reflects the strongest disconfirming or core claim.
| Effect (sub-claim) | Grade | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Reduced 180-day mortality in selected STEMI cardiogenic shock | B | One multinational trial found a significant reduction. |
| Routine use in every form of cardiogenic shock | ? | This exceeds the strict trial population. |
Cross-check — Codex and Claude
Evidence Table
| Study | Design | Sample | Funding | Endpoint | Result | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Study 1 | Multinational open-label randomized trial | 176 | Danish Heart Foundation and Abiomed | All-cause death at 180 days | 82/179 (45.8%) versus 103/176 (58.5%), HR 0.74, 95% CI 0.55 to 0.99 | Decisive single confirmatory trial |
| Study 2 | Absolute harm rates using randomized-arm denominators | 176 | Danish Heart Foundation and Abiomed; manufacturer device provision was not stated in the paper | Bleeding, limb ischemia, renal replacement, hemolysis, culture-positive sepsis, and general infection | Moderate or severe bleeding 21.8% versus 11.9%; limb ischemia 5.6% versus 1.1%; renal-replacement therapy 41.9% versus 26.7%; mechanical hemolysis 11.7% versus 0.6%; culture-positive sepsis 11.7% versus 4.5%; general infection not stated in the paper | Key harms to interpret alongside mortality benefit |
Receipt — 2 References
All 2 cited sources were verified for existence at the original page (as of 2026-08-06).
Reviewed and approved: Chamgap Editorial Team · Approval date: 2026-08-06 · Corrections: none
Cite this verdict
[Chamgap] Impella CP x 180-day mortality in STEMI cardiogenic shock — Evidence Grade B·72. 2 cited sources checked. Source: https://chamgap.com/en/verdicts/heart/impella-cp-stemi-cardiogenic-shock-180-day-mortality/ · CC BY 4.0CC BY 4.0 — free to use with attribution; do not distort grades, numbers, or verdict meaning.
What this document does and does not do
Chamgap is an information source. It reports what research has and has not confirmed; it does not tell readers what to take or buy. That decision belongs to readers and, when needed, medical or legal professionals. This verdict reflects literature available up to the search date and may change as new research appears. Nothing here is medical advice.